Bye Bye Bubble


Cardboard boxes collapsed and recycled, parking permit placed on my windshield and first electric bill paid, I am officially a resident of Milwaukee, Wisconsin.  I’d be lying if I said it was my plan all along to end up in Brew City, but after spending a few weeks in my new home, I must say I am lovin every minute.

I spent the past five years living, working and trying to slip in a few hours (ok, years) of studying in Wisconsin’s capital city, Madison.   I’m sure most of you have visited Mad Town at some point in your lives, and you don’t need to spend much time there to realize it’s a little different from the rest of the state; one in every five cars is a Prius, protest marches to the capital happen at least once a week, and everybody is between the ages of 18-25 (except for professors/state workers and the children of professors/state workers). Ok, so I may be exaggerating a tiny bit, but the bubble that seems to surround Madison (deflecting any conservatives that might wish to enter) can’t be ignored.

Protest to the Capitol against Prop 8 last fall.

Protest to the Capitol against Prop 8 last fall.

While my years in the Berkley of the Midwest were absolutely incredible, I knew I needed to live life in the “real world.”  After spending a year working for the Wisconsin Department of Corrections central office making copies and bringing the average age of the office down to at least 45, I knew I needed to leave the cubicle life behind and continue my pursuit of knowledge. I also knew I wanted to stay close to home/family (Kenosha aka Kenowhere, WI) and the friends I had made throughout college.  Milwaukee fit the mold perfectly.

Leave a Reply

