Union Maid


As a supplement to my September 25th post about the history of Bay View,  I would like to include this short clip from the annual remembrance ceremony of the Bay View Massacre. The clip shows supporters signing “Union Maid” by Woody Guthrie, and if you look closely you can see the commemoration marker in the background.

Here are the complete lyrics…

There once was a union maid
Who never was afraid
Of goons and ginks and company finks
And deputy sheriffs who made the raids
She went to the union hall When a meeting it was called,
And when the Legion boys came ’round
She always stood her ground.

cho: Oh, you can’t scare me, I’m sticking to the union,
I’m sticking to the union,I’m sticking to the union
Oh, you can’t scare me, I’m sticking to the union,
I’m sticking to the union till theday I die.

This union maid was wise
To the tricks of company spies,
She couldn’t be fooled by a company stool
She’d always organize the guys
She always got her way
When she struck for better pay.
She’d show her card to the national guard
And this is what she’d say.

You gals who want to be free
Just take a little tip from me:
Get you a man who’s a union man
And join the Ladies’ Auxiliary*

married life ain’t hard
When you got a union card,
And a union man has a happy life
When he’s got a union wife.


Leave a Reply

